WebHosting Top

Hosting Ranks
Customers Hosting Review
Webmaster Reviews


globat.com hosting reviews

Globat reviews, testimonials & plans!

Host Monster
Top 10 Webhosting
Webhosting Directory
Add Webhost Provider

Top 10 Web Hosting
Ranking criteria:
Best Service, Price,
Quality, Customer Support,
Data center, Reliability,
Control Panel, Performance
and Features!
 
 Globat - www.globat.com
 Overall Ranking: No Rank Yet - "A great middle of the road type service!"
 Read our web hosting review below, or check Globat to visit this web host!
Add your experience about Globat
 
Our

Globat Review

Globat General Impression


In general, Globat offers one of the most appealing web hosting packages out there on the web. For only $7.50 a month with free setup, their outstanding performance on their servers and comprehensive list of features make this host a superior candidate for your hosting needs.

Globat Price & Cost Effectiveness


Globat's pricing structure is very similar to other web hosting companies. Their pricing starts at $7.50 a month and they offer only UNIX web hosting. Even with that, they were still able to offer free setup with a annual purchase of their web hosting accounts. Besides the low price, you get over 300 MB of storage space and 30 GB of web traffic. Some of the highlights of their hosting plan are unlimited quota size and quantity for MySQL Databases and they are able to accept payment via paypal.

Globat Data Center (toured)


Globat current utilitize a OC-12 connection to the internet and is located in Los Angeles. Their data center currenty holds over 50 servers and they have a fully redundant power supply. They also host customers on a fully redundant, state-of-the-art infrastructure of brand name equipment such as Cisco Systems, Network Appliances, Foundry and Sun Microsystems.

Globat Customer Service


Globat offers support not only via telephone, but also live chat through its control panel interface. It seems that the only way of getting a hold of them was through email and trouble tickets. On a positive note, they responded to trouble tickets quickly and activation time for account was less than 5 minutes, which is a big plus. Out of the all the web hosting companies, they provided one of the most comprehensive online help documentations. Their FAQ's, online web tutorials, online ticket system are of top notch quality.

Globat Control Panel


Globat is using a newer version of Plesk. Plesk is one of the most stable control panel software out there. Even though, it lacks icons for functionality, it offers basically the same features as other control panels such as modifcation of e-mail forwarding, and modifying and changing password. Plesk control panel also allows you to modify MX records.

Through testing, the control panel has been very fast and very reliable. It is very user-friendly and easy to operate. Included is an extensive customer guide which can quickly guide even the most reluctant novice.

Globat Contact Information and Support

Globat, LLC
11684 Ventura Blvd. #825
Studio City, CA 91604
U.S.A.

Main Office: (323) 874-9000
Main Fax: (323) 874-1290 

Technical Support: Live Chat 24/7
Customer Service: Live Chat and Phone 6 a.m. - 6 p.m. (PST)
                                    7 days a week +1-323-874-9000




Reinaldo Pena for webhosting-top.com, 01/12/2005



Globat ( www.globat.com ) Hosting Plans:
P
r
o
d
u
c
t

i
n
f
o
Linux Hosting Plans: [Go to plans overview]
Globat.com 0.37/mo.
Globat TeraByte Xtreme 4.44/mo.
Globat Terabyte XS 18.95/mo.
Globat TeraByte Package T03 Plus 24.95/mo.

Attention: This information can be already old, please contact us in case these informations are wrong and must be updated!
C
o
n
t
a
c
t

I
n
f
o
r
m
a
t
i
o
n
Statistics for www.globat.com
Popularity Rank #28751
Links pointing to the URL3288
Website languageen
Domain in business since1998-04-02
URL descriptionOffers web hosting and domain name registration service.
URL titleGlobat
Owned byGlobat, LLC.
Street11288 Ventura Blvd., Suite 443 B
CityLos Angeles
StateCA
Zip code91604
CountryUnited States
Tel323-874-9000
Contact by emailsales(at)globat(dot)com
T
e
s
t
i
m
o
n
i
a
l
s
"Inappropriate customer service was the point, which broke my previous relationships with co-location providers. They were trying to dodge me as a customer by preventing any possible direct contact over the phone. Have you ever tried to reach Globat for instance? Me too... So far I was pleased to find out that Globat is actually available 7 days a week, 24 hours a day, and every request I make is processed within 12 hours. They do not fail to amaze me with efficient and personalized technical support. I claim that their technical support is second to none!"
from Roy Fox
Customer opinions forwww.globat.com

Sabine ( SabineRebecca at yahoo dot com ) at: 2008-11-19
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
General Rating:
            Features:
Customer Service:
          Cost/Price:
      Control Panel:
I am currently trying to terminate my account with Globat, reasons see further down.
After my first termination notice they wrote back that they need some credit card details to terminate my account.
When I refused to give them any Credit Card details for a TERMINATION, they wrote back that then they need my user name and PASSWORD for termination.(It exprired anyway as I just saw)

THEY CANT BE SERIOUS.
Does your bank ask your for your pin number of your credit card when you want to cancel it?

Now the reasons why I terminate:

- I signed up with Globat with the intention of building a photo website. I asked them for advice, being dumb enough telling them that I have absolutely no clue whatsoever about the web and how much space / traffic I would need. Haha..... paid a lot and nothing worked easy, always slow, ftp lousy. I never got anywhere.

- The advertised super and easy templates were not special at all. All you get is a very pre-fabricated looking site. (Correct me if I am wrong, that was 2 or 3 years ago.)

- The online Live Chat and email helpdesk was USELESS. They didn't even try to understand my questions but sent back text modules that had little or nothing to do with my question. long long waiting queues.

- Then I saw, just in time cause I had gotten back from a holiday, the first of their "Opt out or we upgrade your account" email. I opted out and send them a note that I wish to never again get an opt-out upgrade of whatsover and that I consider that not fair business practice.

- Months later I got another opt-out upgrade that includes installation of software to my account. For annually 49 US$!!!! My answer: "I thought we were clear that you will not again send automatic upgrade that involve cost. I am sure I had sent you more than one note. Opt out is NOT AN OPTION!"

MY QUESTION: IS THIS LEGAL ????
It can't be.


- Their billing is unclear and when you go for an early bird renewal there is parts not included and you get another bill later and saved nothing in the end.
And when I once wrote, I thought I had just paid my bill, I got this answer: "Please be advised that you will also need to pay that upcoming invoice because that would be for your hosting renewal. You also need to pay for your pending invoice XXXXXX amounting to $XXXX for your Domain Registration and Add-on: DomainPrivacyGuard."
I was not aware that my package was split into subpackages. I admit, that might have been my fault. But maybe not.

Is there anything positvie about Globat? Maybe, but I didn't experience it.




one of their opt-out emails as an example (I kept everything)

On Monday of this week, we sent you an e-mail with our industry-leading
TeraByte Plus(tm) Package upgrade offer that also included 3 free months of Web
hosting and a price-freeze guarantee all for just $29.95. There is nothing you
have to do to participate in this upgrade. It is all being done automatically!
You will receive notification when you can use the new and powerful features
and your account on file is charged the one-time $29.95 upgrade fee.

If, by any chance, you have decided NOT to take advantage of this
upgrade offer and the 3 free months of Web hosting, please click on
the link below before midnight on May 3, 2006 :

https://www.globat.com/optout.php??79418.967721c125
(If link does not work, please copy entire link into your browser)

Rik ( rafnik(at)yahoo(dot)com ) at: 2006-11-25
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
General Rating:
            Features:
Customer Service:
          Cost/Price:
      Control Panel:
I won't touch this company with a 10 feet pole. Definitely one of the worst hosting companies out there.

I was charged for a two-year term. Seven months later, they charged my credit card for yet another two years. What happened to the remaining 1 yr 5 months? All effort failed to secure a refund, even in the face of overwhelming evidence.

I ended up disputing the charges with my credit card company, and cancelling my credit card to prevent new charges from them.

If you contact globat customer service by email, you'd be lucky if you get a response back in a week. Also, calling on the phone is a major headache. I managed to get through once, and got somebody from India whose accent I struggled to understand.

Try other hosting companies. Globat is extremely bad in every imaginable way.

Lela Iskandar ( lelaiskandar(at)gmail(dot)com ) at: 2006-09-08
Time Hosted: 3 to 6 months
General Rating:
            Features:
Customer Service:
          Cost/Price:
      Control Panel:
I had this hosting for free when I bought a template at templatemonster.

It stated that this stuff is free - no billing charges - nothing! but i saw a charge on my credit card for it. It was small but enough to make you think if the company can be trusted.

After a few weeks, I received an email - saying that I got an upgrade for my site. If I didn't say no, it will be upgraded automatically ( and it was not emphasized so much) and be charged.

This is an excerpt from the email
"As one of our most valued customers and based on our customer feedback, we are absolutely certain that you want to take advantage of this opportunity. For that reason, we will automatically upgrade your account with PromoPak Pro and charge the $29.95 first-year
upgrade fee to your account on file on Monday, September 4, 2006 , unless you specifically tell us not to upgrade you by clicking on the link at the end of this email."

And guess when do I receive the email? September 5th!

What a scam!

John ( johnspam[at]fairygothmother[dot]co[dot]uk ) at: 2006-06-09
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
General Rating:
            Features:
Customer Service:
          Cost/Price:
      Control Panel:
Do not touch this company if you ever think you wil need any Support. They do not know the meaning of it!
Sean Owhady ( shoheenspam[at]yahoo[dot]com ) at: 2005-11-02
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
General Rating:
            Features:
Customer Service:
          Cost/Price:
      Control Panel:
These people are the scum of the earth. They will take any opportunity to apply fees to your account, whether you've fulfilled the ridiculous fine print on their contract or not, and then send your account to predatory collection agencies when you do not comply.

Do not purchase at any cost. I wish I had read a little more about them before I got tied up with this cowboy outfit.

Erik ( info(at)passoja(dot)com ) at: 2005-08-31
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
General Rating:
            Features:
Customer Service:
          Cost/Price:
      Control Panel:
Do not purchase server space from Globat web hosting service!

Glob@t practices what I consider to be unfair business methods. If you sign up for a year, you will find that at the end of that year, without so much as a renewal letter, they will bill you for an additional year. A couple of days later, they will cut off your service.

If you call them to cancel, they will not communicate that there is only ONE way to cancel, to use their cancellation request form. You will think that you are officially cancelled.

Six months later, without so much as sending you a bill, they will submit you to collections, for the amount of $267.45. Glob@t’s rate is $94.45/year.

Furthermore, their server is constantly down. They tout a transfer rate of 80-120k, and it is actually below 40k. Their technical support is horrible. Their trouble tickets, in my opinion, are as worthless as spam. Business web hosting and ecommerce with this company is not affordable web hosting if they lack support.

I strongly suggest using other domain hosting plans, such as at http://www.ipowerweb.com.

John Walker ( privacy(at)privacy(dot)com ) at: 2005-08-05
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
General Rating:
            Features:
Customer Service:
          Cost/Price:
      Control Panel:
I finally quit Globat after almost 2 years of hosting with them. Their server is down most of the time. If it is not down, it is usually very slow. And email are virtually not existing!

The worst part is if you have any problem, forget about the customer support, since they will not response to you if you problem seems 'difficult' for them.

I am shocked that Globat are so terrible. I have finally make up my decision to quit.

Andy ( madhatt at adelphia dot net ) at: 2005-07-13
Time Hosted: 1 to 3 months
General Rating:
            Features:
Customer Service:
          Cost/Price:
      Control Panel:
BAIT AND SWITCH! BAIT AND SWITCH!



When I signed up for service with globat, the sales rep told me that my download speeds would range between 80-120k

I have NEVER gotten above 40K EVER!

I have tried at all times of the day from at least 5 different networks, all with the same painful results.

after waiting on support chat for 45 min the support rep "cindy" told me that it's just the way it is. and that sales DOES NOT quote bandwidth.

so I called up the sales dep while I was still in the chat room with cindy, Brian in sales told me that the download speed was 100Mbits!! from 80-120k to 100Mbits?

I told that to the support rep and she basically sluffed me off and told me to contact the help desk.


DO NOT USE GLOBAT, THEY USE THE BAIT AND SWITCH scam

J ( catalyst(at)bww(dot)com ) at: 2005-07-12
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
General Rating:
            Features:
Customer Service:
          Cost/Price:
      Control Panel:
Globat is horrible. They acquired Entity Hosting which is equally bad...they are non existent when it comes to customer service. They have been double and triple billing me for months -- and getting it, because I was stupid enough to allow them to 'ding' my account each month.

If you're considering hosting...don't use these guys.

They've been impossible to reach via phone, trouble ticket and email for weeks now.

I'm so disgusted with them it's hard to describe.

Don't fall for the hype of their website...it's just a front for a billing scam.


© 2002 - 2019 WebHosting Top All Rights Reserved. Disclaimer ( 2019-11-12 04:14:14 100.25.43.188 )

Disclosure: We are best reviews web site which receives compensation from the providers we review. Opinions expressed here are based on our own research or independent users!